iwlwifi: mvm: add rtnl_lock() in iwl_mvm_start_get_nvm()
authorLuca Coelho <luciano.coelho@intel.com>
Thu, 2 Sep 2021 10:11:01 +0000 (13:11 +0300)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Thu, 2 Sep 2021 15:55:06 +0000 (08:55 -0700)
Due to a rebase damage, we lost the rtnl_lock() when the patch was
sent out.  This causes an RTNL imbalance and failed assertions, due to
missing RTNL protection, for instance:

  RTNL: assertion failed at net/wireless/reg.c (4025)
  WARNING: CPU: 60 PID: 1720 at net/wireless/reg.c:4025 regulatory_set_wiphy_regd_sync+0x7f/0x90 [cfg80211]
  Call Trace:
   iwl_mvm_init_mcc+0x170/0x190 [iwlmvm]
   iwl_op_mode_mvm_start+0x824/0xa60 [iwlmvm]
   iwl_opmode_register+0xd0/0x130 [iwlwifi]
   init_module+0x23/0x1000 [iwlmvm]

Fix this by adding the missing rtnl_lock() back to the code.

Fixes: eb09ae93dabf ("iwlwifi: mvm: load regdomain at INIT stage")
Link: https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/CAHk-=wjB_zBwZ+WR9LOpvgjvaQn=cqryoKigod8QnZs=iYGEhA@mail.gmail.com/
Reported-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Luca Coelho <luciano.coelho@intel.com>
Acked-by: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
drivers/net/wireless/intel/iwlwifi/mvm/ops.c

index 6f60018..77ea2d0 100644 (file)
@@ -686,6 +686,7 @@ static int iwl_mvm_start_get_nvm(struct iwl_mvm *mvm)
 {
        int ret;
 
+       rtnl_lock();
        mutex_lock(&mvm->mutex);
 
        ret = iwl_run_init_mvm_ucode(mvm);